News Page


CCBC and RMU Sign Transfer Agreements For 14 More Degree Programs

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Monaca, PA - Community College of Beaver County (CCBC) and Robert Morris University (RMU) are expanding their partnership to provide students with more opportunities as they pursue associate and bachelor’s degrees.

CCBC and RMU have signed new articulation agreements for 14 CCBC associate degree programs that will seamlessly transfer to corresponding bachelor’s degree programs at RMU as well as one additional agreement that will allow current CCBC aviation students to transfer into RMU’s organizational leadership program.

In total, the fourteen new agreements will create career pathways that allow students to more efficiently earn bachelor’s degrees in fields that meet regional workforce needs. These new opportunities are added to approximately 20 transfer programs already in place with RMU. 

“The signing of these additional transfer agreements reflects our shared priorities of enhancing access and affordability to higher education. Our continued partnership builds on our ability to assist students in our shared service area as they pursue associate and bachelor’s degrees,” said CCBC President Dr. Chris Reber.

The new agreements in the area of engineering will contribute to the future development of a skilled workforce for emerging regional occupations anticipated as a result of the Shell cracker plant and growth in other areas of the petrochemicals industry.

“Beaver County is poised for tremendous economic growth, and that will benefit our entire region. RMU is proud to partner with CCBC in supporting that growth,” said RMU President Dr. Chris Howard.

“Robert Morris aims to be the preferred partner of corporations, organizations, and professionals in western Pennsylvania, and that includes community college partners such as CCBC.”

Through the agreements, students who earn their associate degree at CCBC are provided an academic pathway to transfer all earned associate degree credits into an equivalent bachelor’s degree program at RMU.

Articulation agreements have been signed for the following programs:

CCBC Program RMU Program
Aviation Studies Organizational Leadership
Biological Sciences Biology
Environmental Sciences – Biology track      Environmental Science
Business Administration Business Administration 
Criminal Justice (Transfer) Criminal Justice
Engineering Engineering
Engineering Manufacturing Engineering
Pre-Engineering Engineering
Pre-Engineering  Manufacturing Engineering
English English
History History
Liberal Studies    Social Sciences
Fine Arts Media Arts 
Social Science  Social Sciences 
Psychology Psychology 
Visual Communications – Digital Media Design      Media Arts


By jointly offering Associate degrees in Aviation and a Bachelor’s degree in Organizational Leadership, the two colleges will also establish a collaborative program in Aviation Leadership. Students may obtain Associate of Applied Science degrees in Professional Pilot, Air-Traffic Control, Aerospace Management, and Unmanned Aerial Vehicle from CCBC as well as a Bachelor of Science in Organizational Leadership from RMU by completing total of 120-124 credits, typically in four years or less.

Enrolled students will study on both campuses and can begin taking classes at CCBC during the first four semesters (freshmen and sophomore years) while simultaneously taking online classes at RMU. For the junior and senior years of study, students may take RMU classes at either the main campus in Moon Township as 15-week or 8-week terms, or continue to complete their studies online.

The growing partnership between CCBC and RMU benefits students at both institutions. CCBC students will be encouraged to complete their associate degrees first in order to seamlessly transfer all earned degree credits at a cost savings, while RMU will realize an increase in students who are academically prepared, potentially leading to increased degree completion rates at both institutions.

These new agreements expand the existing relationship between the two institutions and provide more local students with career pathways that lead to future job opportunities. Transfer agreements are already in place for programs in nursing, education, computer information systems, and mathematics.

For more information about these and other agreements, visit or

About CCBC

Founded in 1966 and celebrating its 50th anniversary, CCBC has an annual enrollment that exceeds 3,600 credit students and an additional 3,200 non-credit students. CCBC is an Achieving the Dream Leader College and is embarking on a vision to grow its offerings and community engagement through partnerships and new program development.  CCBC offers 75 degrees, certificate and diploma programs and hundreds of Continuing Education and Workforce Development programs as well as seamless transfer to a growing number of baccalaureate and graduate institutions. The Aspen Institute recently named CCBC one of America’s 150 Best Community Colleges.

About RMU
Through 49 undergraduate and 35 graduate degree programs across five academic schools, Robert Morris University (RMU) in Pittsburgh, Pa., works to change its students' lives so that they can go out and change the lives of others for the better. More than 5,000 undergraduate and graduate, nontraditional and online students from 48 states and 39 nations are enrolled at RMU, a nationally ranked university which sits on 230 scenic acres just 20 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh. Emphasizing experiential learning, Robert Morris focuses on professional development, service learning, global awareness, undergraduate research, campus leadership, and cultural experiences, all of which are documented on our innovative Student Engagement Transcript. More than 100 clubs and organizations help students to develop leadership skills, network professionally, and meet friends. RMU also has 16 NCAA Division I athletic programs, including football, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s ice hockey, and men's and women's lacrosse.