News Page


The Minuteman

Friday, May 5, 2017


-- Media Arts students in Associate Professor Ferris Crane’s Advanced Typography and Design Studio II courses won a slew of awards at the annual Neographics competition. Every student who submitted work won an award, and Ashley Gardell won Best of Category-Student for her poster. Winners of the Franklin Awards of Excellence include Chelsea Hepfl, Katherine Chemsak, Zane Sporrer, Haley Defeo, Lindsay Smith, and Antoinette Antonacci for their shopping bags; Blake Pawelec, Alessandra Crivelli, Zane Sporrer, and De'Seana Butler won for their musical event posters’ while Zane Sporrer, Ricky Petticord, Taylor Childers, Fatimah Alghamgham, Garvey Reed, and Katherine Chemsak won for their typographic designs depicting a day in their lives; and Fatimah Alghamghan for her bilingual type poster, "Weird."

-- Commencement weekend is upon us! Featured speakers are Steelers Head Coach Mike Tomlin on Friday and University of Massachusetts Boston Chancellor J. Keith Motley on Saturday. 


-- RMU Night at PNC Park is set for June 14 and we're choosing one lucky person to throw out the first pitch on behalf of the university. To sign up for the gameday tailgate, which includes a game ticket, an RMU branded Pirates hat, access into the Miller Lite rooftop, and free food and beer from 6:30-8 p.m. For a chance to throw out the first pitch, you just have to make a $10 donation to the RMU Alumni Association Endowed Scholarship Fund. Learn more at

NOTE: The Minuteman will only be published every other week over the summer. Please send any information you'd like entered into the Minuteman to

If you do not currently receive the weekly The Minuteman emails, please click here  to subscribe.