News Page


RMU Dominates Graphic Design Competition

Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Pittsburgh -- RMU media arts graphic design students won 25 awards in the 2013 Neographics competition.

Ryan Kotar was named the winner of Best of Category for Design, and Katie Marcinko was named winner of Best of Category for Student. Twenty-three students won Franklin Awards of Excellence in design for advertising, posters, shopping bags, and corporate identity projects.

In addition, Adam Petras, Rebekah Lane, Mary Frances Malick (2 awards), Samantha Hayden (2), Liz Phillips, Luke Susko, Jessica Gierczynski, Katie Marcinko, Paige Neat (2), Joshua Klamer, Rachel Calhoun, Virginia Kohar (2), Gary Horstmann (2), Latiyfa Whitehead, Justin Gourley, Brittan Miller, Jennifer Moore, Shelbey Surgent, Alyssa Bishop (2), were all awarded Franklin Awards of Excellence.

The winning participants are all students of Ferris Crane, associate professor of media arts and graphic design. "I can't believe we did it again," said Crane. "Our competition was stiff, but we did it."

In 2011, 14 RMU students brought home awards from the annual competition.

Neographics is the annual juried graphic arts show sponsored by the Graphic Arts Association. It's open to all professionals and students in the tri-state area of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. Submissions are judged on design, production techniques and concepts.