News Page


Sigma Kappa to Join Robert Morris University’s Panhellenic Sorority Community

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

The Robert Morris University Panhellenic Council has confirmed the extension committee’s recommendation to invite Sigma Kappa to join the RMU fraternity and sorority community in the fall of 2014, increasing the council's membership to four sorority chapters, and overall sorority community to six total chapters.

Founded at Colby College in Waterville, Maine, in 1852, Sigma Kappa was selected based on their commitment to values like personal growth and friendship, and service to organizations such as the national Alzheimer’s Association. Sigma Kappa has more than 110 chapters nationwide and is headquartered in Indianapolis.

RMU's Greek community has experienced significant membership growth since 2011. Delta Phi Epsilon was the most recent traditional sorority addition to campus, re-chartered in the spring of 2012 to become the third Panhellenic sorority in addition to Delta Zeta and Zeta Tau Alpha. Since 2011, the university has also added Alpha Chi Rho, Alpha Phi Delta, and Iota Phi Theta fraternities. A group of students is currently working to reestablish the Delta Tau Delta fraternity.

During the fall 2013 recruitment, an overwhelming number of young women expressed interest in joining a sorority at RMU, and the average chapter size grew from 27 to 71. The Panhellenic Council formed an extension committee and six applications for extension were received from interested sororities. Three organizations were chosen to visit campus and give presentations to the committee and the campus community.

Representatives from Sigma Kappa will soon begin working closely with the Office of Student Life and the Panhellenic Council to ensure a successful colonization process in the fall of 2014.