RMU Home Page

Nine RMU Media Arts Students Win Prestigious Award 

Moon Township, Pa. – Nine Robert Morris University Media Arts students have been honored by the Graphic Arts Association for their work. Kayla Lawrence won the Best of Category (Student) award, while eight other RMU students won Franklin Awards of Excellence. 

The students competed against their counterparts in design programs in Delaware, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Projects were created in RMU's Design Studio II and Senior Studio courses, both taught by Associate Professor Ferris Crane. The projects, which included shopping bags, editorial designs and music teaser cards, will be on exhibit at Neographics-The Power of Print, held at the Union League in Philadelphia on May 7. The event draws hundreds of industry professionals, their clients and employees each year.

Neographics is one of the nation’s largest graphic communications contests. Calls for entries are sent to over 6,000 organizations, including graphic design firms, typographers, printers, advertising agencies, public relations professionals, packaging firms, finishers and design programs.

Brendan Berkley, Malgorzata Czajkiewicz, Marcus Jones, Jennifer Kobylski, Andrea Pekelnicky, Erin Perry, Scot Rutledge and Rebecca Yokum were winners of the Franklin Award of Excellence. They will attend the Neographics reception with their guests, and Kayla Lawrence will receive her award at a dinner ceremony. Her winning shopping bag will be displayed on screen and her work printed in the evening’s program. The program will also list RMU as having won eight Franklin Awards of Excellence with the winners receiving a professional awards certificate.

“This is huge. The experience, the opportunity to meet a large number of professionals in a gracious setting, the thrill of winning, the ability to add a professional award to one’s resume and the recognition it brings RMU are invaluable,” said Crane.

 graphic design
Kayla Lawrence's winning shopping bag design.