RMU Home Page

RMU Students Dominate Graphic Arts Association's Neographics Contest 

Pittsburgh -- Fifteen students in Robert Morris University’s Media Arts program are set to be honored for their submissions to the Graphic Arts Association’s annual "Neographics – The Power of Print Communications" contest.

The winners, who competed against others in Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey, are all students in RMU’s Introduction to Graphic Design and Graphic Design Studio II class taught by Associate Professor Ferris Crane.

Alyssa Kobylski and Neil Shaffer won Best of Category: Student. (Kobylski winning design is on the home page; Shaffer's is pictured at right.) Justin Lotz, Tyler Donovan, Andrew Mortimer, Beau Pappaterra, Jocelyn Wilson, Adam Lombardi, Debra Ostrander, Kari Crusan, Cassie Weinzierl, Ashley Slifko, Nicol Sabol, Anthony Mcelhinney, and Jeanine Sandora received Franklin Awards of Excellence.

The winning students, Crane, and Department Head Jon Radermacher will be attending the Neographics opening-night exhibition and cocktail party at the Union Club in Philadelphia, on May 6.

“This is huge,” says Crane. “It reflects the excellence of the entire program.” 

The Graphic Arts Association serves as an advocate for the printing and graphic communications industry, providing education and information to its members. It is the only regional trade association for the printing industry serving Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey and Delaware.

"Neographics – The Power of Print" is one of the nation’s largest regional graphic communications competitions. Calls for entries are sent to over 6,000 organizations, including graphic design firms, typographers, printers, advertising agencies, public relations professionals, packaging firms, finishers and design programs.

 RMU Media Arts