Robert Morris University

Six Colonials Named To National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society

A total of six RMU football student-athletes were named to the 2021 National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, it was announced Wednesday.


Honored for the Colonials are offensive linemen Trevor Hicks, Eric McAllister II and Dylan Young, defensive linemen Alex Avakian and Ezra Tupuola and kicker Nick Bisceglia.

Members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.20 on a 4.00 scale as a senior, meet all mandated progress toward degree requirements and have been a starter or significant contributor during the 2020-21 season.

An elite group of 910 student-athletes from 255 institutions qualified for membership in 2021, the 15th year for the Hampshire Honor Society. The initiative, which capitalizes on the NFF National Scholar-Athlete program by expanding the number of scholar-athletes the organization can recognize each year, has now honored 13,077 student-athletes since its inception.

Young has posted a 3.67 GPA as a cyber forensics & information security major, Hicks owns a 3.63 GPA while studying criminal justice and McAllister is pursuing a Master of Science degree at RMU in data analytics with a 3.45 GPA. Avakian and Tupuola each own organizational leadership as a major and have recorded a GPA of 3.25 and 3.20, respectively. Bisceglia is a sport management major who has recorded a GPA of 3.66.

Led by head coach Bernard Clark, Jr., the Colonials open their 28th season of NCAA Division I football Saturday, Sept. 4, at Dayton. The non-conference schedule for RMU in 2021 includes a road game at Central Michigan (9/11) and a home game against Howard (9/25) as well as a full slate of conference games in the Big South.