Past Presidents

Changing Faces of Leadership

Over a century, these presidents have overseen and guided the growth and transition of this institution from a business school for accountants and secretaries to a national doctoral university.

Andrew Blass - RMU President 1921-1929
Andrew Blass 1921-1929

Founded the Pittsburgh School of Accountancy in rented space in downtown Pittsburgh, using curriculum similar to what he had overseen as dean of the Pace Institute in Washington, D.C.

C.W. Salmond - RMU President 1929-1935
C.W. Salmond 1929-1935

Oversaw expansion to add business and secretarial studies as the school became the Robert Morris School of Business.

Richard Khuen III - RMU President 1935-1948
Richard Khuen III 1935-1948

Relocated the institution to the William Penn Hotel and trimmed the name to Robert Morris School.

John McCartan - RMU President 1948-1966
John McCartan 1948-1966

Bought the Oliver Kaufmann summer estate, Pine Hill Manor, in Moon Township for a suburban campus, and transformed the business into a nonprofit organization to acquire junior college status.

Charles Sewall - RMU President 1967-1989
Charles Sewall 1967-1989

Quickly achieved four-year status as Robert Morris College, then added M.B.A. program and competitive NCAA Div. I athletics.

Edward Nicholson - RMU President 1989-2005
Edward Nicholson 1989-2005

Added more expansion, including the first doctoral program, and led the institution in its final transition to Robert Morris University.

Gregory Dell'Omo - RMU President 2005-2015
Gregory Dell'Omo 2005-2015

Led the push for accreditations including AACSB, and oversaw a boom of new construction on the Moon campus and sale of the Pittsburgh building to Duquesne university.

Chris Howard 2016-2022
Chris Howard 2016-2022

Strengthened corporate education partnerships and services for veterans, presided over a successful $113 million capital campaign, and opened UPMC Events Center and an expanded engineering department in John Jay Center.