NSF Award Ceremony




NSF Award Ceremony

Congratulations to Dr. Ping Wang, Dr. Sushma Mishra, and Dr. Frank Hartle!

RMU has been awarded a new grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to establish a CyberCorps® Scholarship for Service (SFS) program at RMU.

Dr. Ping Wang (CIS) is the Principal Investigator (PI) of this grant project, and Dr. Sushma Mishra (CIS) and Dr. Frank Hartle (Criminal Justice) are Co-PIs. The grant project period is from January 2023 to December 2027. The grant is valued at $3,629,413.

This grant is to recruit highly qualified and diverse students and develop them into excellent and ethical cybersecurity professionals with strong technical and strategic thinking and research skills to meet the growing needs of federal, state, local and tribal government workforce and defend America’s cyberspace. The grant will support 20 selected SFS scholars and faculty research on cybersecurity in the next 5 years.


Pictured:Dr. James L. Moore III , Assistant Director for STEM Education, National Science Foundation (NSF);Mr. Nitin Natarajan, Deputy Director of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) l Mr. Rob Shriver, Deputy Director of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM);Dr. Suzanne Nielsen, Deputy Assistant National Cyber Director for Workforce, Education, and Training , Office of the National Cyber Director, Executive Office of the President