Center for Cybersecurity

Robert Morris University (RMU) has been designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Education (NCAE-CDE) by the U.S. National Security Agency and Department of Homeland Security (NSA/DHS).

NSADepartment of Homeland SecurityCAE

NCAE POC (Point of Contact): Dr. Ping Wang, Ph.D., CISSP

The Center for Cybersecurity serves as the focal point for cybersecurity education and research at RMU. The Center is organized and hosted by the Department of Computer and Information Systems and supported by faculty across multiple disciplines at RMU. The mission of the center is to provide guidance, resources, and opportunities for cybersecurity education, research, collaboration, and outreach for RMU community and partnership organizations.

Cybersecurity Programs

Multi-disciplinary Faculty Involved in Cybersecurity Areas

Ping Wang, Ph.D., CISSP, NCAE Point of Contact, Computer and Information Systems

Sushil Acharya, Dr. Eng., Software Engineering

Natalya Bromall, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

Gary Davis, D.Sc., Computer and Information Systems

Nooredin Etezady, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

Holly Hampe, D.Sc., Health Services Administration

Francis Hartle, D.Sc., Criminal Justice

Nader Kesserwan, Ph.D., Computer Science

Paul Kovacs, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

Sushma Mishra, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

Karen Paullet, D.Sc., Computer and Information Systems

Jacob Peng, Ph.D., CISA, Accounting

Jamie Pinchot, D.Sc., Computer and Information Systems

Abdur Shahid, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

John Stewart, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

Yanbin Tu, Ph.D., Marketing

Wenli Wang, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

Peter Wu, Ph.D., Computer and Information Systems

Yao Zhang, Ph.D., Accounting

Advisory Board Members

Dr. Jeff Daniels, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Timothy Dauk, U.S. Air Force

Dr. Maurice Dawson, Illinois Institute of Technology

Sylvia Harris, City of Pittsburgh

Admiral Norman Hayes, United States Navy (ret.)

Dr. Jason Hong, Carnegie Mellon University

Dr. Johnson Kinyua, Penn State University Park

Jason Memmo, PA Army National Guard

Dr. Andrew Phillips, CSAB

Matt Rosenberg, Allegheny County Police Mobile Forensic Unit

Dr. Kenneth Williams, Southern University at New Orleans

RMU Information Security Plan
Outreach and Partnerships

RMU has established articulation agreements for student transfers with the following community colleges and other schools:

  • Butler County Community College
  • Community College of Allegheny County
  • Community College of Beaver County
  • Pittsburgh Technical Institute
  • Westmoreland County Community College

See transfer agreements here.

RMU is a member of the National CyberWatch Center.

RMU is a partner of the National Cybersecurity Training & Education Center (NCyTE) at 

DoD Cyber Scholarship

The Department of Defense Cyber Scholarship Program (DoD CySP) provides full ride scholarship grants to promote the education, recruitment and retention of qualified and selected students in cybersecurity studies at institutions with Center of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity (NCAE-C) designations, including NCAE-CDE (Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Education). 

Learn More